Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Terry Richter

State Farm® Insurance Agent Terry Richter

Rating: 3.6 stars out of 5 (31 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Josh Kelsch

November 2, 2022

5  out of  5
"Jared did a great job on switching me over from a different company to state farm to help save me money and get better policies!"

Lumpy Rutherford

October 25, 2022

1  out of  5
"Stay clear. This place over bills and will take your money if you don't watch closely. I can't believe this place hasn't been shut down by the Attorney General."

R M

October 14, 2022

1  out of  5
"Five stars IF it were totally reliant on Sandy. However this isn't a review of just one employee, this is a review of the agency as a whole business particularly as represented by Mathew Gawarecki. My family and I have had Richter Insurance as our State Farm agent for over 50 years, and I decided to move all my insurance needs back to Richter Insurance in August of 2022. I accepted the six month premium quote and paid in full for three auto policies to be started all on the same date of August 07, 2022. When I received the policy contract documents one policy had an effective date prior to the quote even being provided or accepted with an expiration date only one month later. The second policy had a start date when it should have been, but an expiration date only four months later. The third policy had a start date one month after the others with the incorrect expiration date also. Two weeks after the policies were to ALL take effect I received a "cancelled" policy refund check for one vehicle Then a supplemental bill for the third vehicle policy with a higher premium than quoted. By that time I had cancelled all three policies in irritation at the gross incompetence of the Mathew Gawarecki and two other agents I had to deal with. One policy had less than half the six month premium refunded for less than one month "coverage". I am still waiting for the rest of that refund. Then recently in the last week I received a bill for coverage on one of the cancelled policies with a statement date nearly six weeks after the policy was cancelled. Now emails to the agent Mathew Gawarecki who I first dealt with are being ignored, and no proper refund of the cancelled policy either. Please, do yourself a huge favor and go anywhere else other than this particular office. I am sorry Sandy that you have to deal with this incompetence, as you have been and are the only customer service oriented person in this office."

Jack Steel

June 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"Terry is a great person"

Ansue Allison

June 16, 2022

5  out of  5
"The associates were very cordial"

Whitney

April 8, 2022

5  out of  5
"Terry is such a nice, knowledgeable, friendly man. We hadn't met in awhile to go over our policy. He was so informative and nice. Would recommend 100%"

Tamara Giese

May 26, 2021

5  out of  5
"Been with them for 26 years. They are amazing. Will help you with any questions or concerns about your automobile, home and help you fit your life style."

Anton Weekes Jr

May 4, 2021

5  out of  5
"Kind and concerned about giving you the best service."

Chad Leier

April 17, 2021

5  out of  5
"Been a customer since mid 90's. Many things have changed, but customer service has increased. Great Job!"

Breanne Cox

February 10, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great place! Cam is the absolute best!"

Joseph Hackmen

February 9, 2021

1  out of  5
"Good luck getting money back on a policy you canceled months ago. To top it off it took money from my account again from my account! Top it off they said they will mail a check in January did not receive It. What a joke out 250 dollars. While I had to pay another insurance company for that policy."

Valerie Schneider

January 21, 2021

1  out of  5
"Nobody answered the phone and no voice mail"

Andrew Schlafmann

March 9, 2020

5  out of  5
"Terry and his employees are very friendly and helpful when it comes time to file an insurance claim. They also review my policy with me every year to see if I qualify for additional discounts or services."

Dave Ciavarella

February 1, 2020

5  out of  5
"Icon of pizza in Bismarck for many years"

Laura Driscoll

October 28, 2019

5  out of  5
"Always very helpful and polite when I have questions. They make everything simple and always take their time to explain something if you dont understand. They are almost always available for customer service and respond in a quick timely manner if messages are left. My family has been using this branch of state farm for 20+ years and will continue too."
Profile photo of Andres Pagan

Andres Pagan

September 25, 2019

1  out of  5
"I would not recommend Terry Richter - State Farm to any of my friends. There are a lot of talented insurance agencies and people that work in the Bismarck area and I am happy to finally be making the switch to a different provider. Unfortunately, my experience with them was poor. Over the months, I had to deal with numerous over-billing issues and clerical mistakes from their office including an instance in which they mistakenly attributed a car accident to me. The matter was later corrected after having to reach out to corporate State Farm offices. On a separate occasion, they swept money out of my bank account without my knowledge, which resulted in them having to return over a couple hundred dollars for over-billing (see attached image). If I had not been monitoring my bank account closely, I wouldn't have caught over-billing errors like these and likely would have never gotten my money returned to me. It was mistakes like these, which in retrospect, although not necessarily committed in bad faith, led to a deterioration of trust."

Paul Crownover

September 19, 2019

5  out of  5
"Always very helpful with any questions or concerns you might have. I have been very pleased with their service for the past 8 years"

Emily Medalen

September 2, 2019

1  out of  5
"Be careful, these people have left me uninsured without warning, and are constantly over-billing me due to their carelessness and disorganization. Steer clear of this firm."

Jerrie Olson

August 24, 2019

5  out of  5
"Megan is the sweetest agent ever and so patient and willing to explain things"

Craig Gierke

August 11, 2017

5  out of  5
"I have been working with them for 24 years with home, auto, motorcycle, boat, and my business . They have always been there when I needed them."

Ryan Glass

May 25, 2017

1  out of  5
"Horrible people. Kicked me off of their policy and had not planned on warning me my policy was about to expire. Only found out cause I called to ask a question. Now I have 3 business days to figure something out."

James Renegade

May 10, 2017

1  out of  5
"Horroble experience with this office. I am telling all my friends and relatives on social media to get ridnod State Farm."